Delhi-Mumbai Expressway: An Engineering Marvel



The Delhi-Mumbai Expressway, a brilliant government initiative, will link India’s two largest financial centres, the nation’s capital, New Delhi, and India’s financial capital, Mumbai. The longest motorway in the world is an eight-lane road that may be expanded to twelve lanes depending on traffic demand.

Construction and maintenance of the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway are being handled by NHAI. The Delhi-Mumbai Expressway project is anticipated to be completed by December 2023, reducing the travel time between the two cities from 24 to just 12 hours.

On the Delhi Mumbai Expressway, the top speed limit would be 120 km/h. On March 9, 2019, Nitin Gadkari, lay the foundation stone for the 1350-kilometer Delhi-Mumbai Expressway.

Delhi Mumbai expressway will pass through which states and routes?

The route of the Mumbai-Delhi expressway will go through five states:

  • Haryana
  • Rajasthan
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Gujarat and
  • Maharashtra.
Delhi-Mumbai Expressway


Over 15,000 hectares of land in these five states were used to build this Delhi to Mumbai route. The expressway will begin in Haryana at Gurugram and travel through Rajasthan at Sawai Madhopur and Jaipur. After then, the road travels through Madhya Pradesh, Ratlam, and Vadodara in Gujarat until ending at Mumbai, Maharashtra. Connectivity to financial cities like:

  • Jaipur
  • Ajmer
  • Kishangarh
  • Kota
  • Udaipur
  • Chittorgarh
  • Bhopal
  • Ujjain
  • Ahmedabad
  • Indore
  • Surat, and
  • Vadodara will improve with this Delhi to Mumbai expressway.

Amenities throughout the expressway:

Around 93 locations along the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway will offer a variety of roadside amenities, including hotels, ATMs, food courts, single-brand eateries like Burger King, Subway, and McDonald’s, as well as retail outlets, charging stations for electric vehicles and gas stations.

The Mumbai to Delhi motorway would be the first to have trauma centres that are fully equipped and helipads every 100 kilometres to provide medical assistance for travellers who are injured in accidents. CCTVs will also be put every 500 metres.

Van Gogh 360° Exhibition Mumbai: Paradise For Art LoversVan Gogh 360° Exhibition Mumbai: Paradise For Art Lovers

Cost per state with kilometres shared:

Five states, Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, and Maharashtra would be crossed by the Delhi-Mumbai expressway, which will cost Rs 98,000 crores for the overall project.

Starting with Delhi which shares 9 km with the expressway the expenditure is 1800 crores. Moving on to Haryana which shares 160 km, the expenditure is 10,400 crores. Rajasthan which shares 374 km costs 16,600 crores.

While Madhya Pradesh which shares 245 km, the expenditure of this part is 11,100 crores. Moving down in the Map, Gujarat which shares 423 which is the highest share will cost 35,100 crores and lastly, Mumbai, which shares 171 km will have an expenditure of 23,000 crores.

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway


What’s unique?

The 8-wide Mumbai Delhi Expressway will have 5 natural wildlife crossings, including Sariska Tiger Reserve, Mukundara National Park, and Ranthambore National Park, on various segments that collectively measure about 2.5 km in length.

The Mukundara National Park & Matheran Eco-sensitive Zone tunnels, which are the first 8-lane wide tunnels in India, would be the key wildlife crossing attractions. The longest length of the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway will feature the first wildlife over bridges in the nation, which are specifically intended to keep the wildlife area unspoiled and unaffected by project development.

Additionally, the motorway is anticipated to save more than 300 million liters of fuel annually and reduce carbon dioxide emissions by at least 850 million tonnes. Another uniqueness of the motorway is that, depending on traffic flow, it may be readily enlarged to a 12-lane expressway.


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *