Know The Official Names: PM Modi Named 21 Islands Of Andaman And Nicobar


On Parakram Diwas, the PM, Shri Narendra Modi, took part in an event to honor the 21 recipients of the Param Vir Chakra by naming the 21 largest nameless islands in the Andaman & Nicobar Islands. The model of the Netaji National Memorial that will be constructed on Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep was also unveiled by the Prime Minister during the occasion.

In honour of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose and in acknowledgment, Ross Islands was renamed Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Dweep during the PM visit to the island in 2018 in recognition of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands’ historical importance. Neil Island & Havelock Island were given the titles Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep, respectively.

The nation’s real-life heroes have always received the utmost respect from PM Narendra Modi. In keeping with this attitude, it has now been determined to give the 21 largest unnamed islands in the island group their names after the 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees.

The largest unnamed island will be named in honour of the 1st Param Vir Chakra awardee, then the second recipient, and so on. This action will serve as a lasting memorial to our warriors, who gave their lives to preserve the integrity and sovereignty of the country.

Andaman And Nicobar

The 21 recipients of the Param Vir Chakra and Official Islands Names on them are:

  • Major Somnath Sharma – “Somnath Island”
  • Subedar & Hony Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, MM – “Karam Singh Island”
  • 2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane – “Rane Island”
  • Nayak Jadunath Singh – “Jadunath Island”
  • Company Havildar Major Piru Singh – “Piru Island”
  • Capt GS Salaria – “Salaria Island”
  • Lieutenant Colonel (then Major) Dhan Singh Thapa – “Dhan Singh Island”
  • Subedar Joginder Singh – “Joginder Island”
  • Major Shaitan Singh – “Shaitan Singh Island”
  • CQMH. Abdul Hamid – “Hamid Island”
  • Lt Col Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore – “Tarapore Island”
  • Lance Naik Albert Ekka – “Ekka Island”
  • Major Hoshiar Singh – Hoshiar Island”
  • 2nd Lt. Arun Khetrapal – “Khetrapal Island”
  • Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon – “Sekhon Island”
  • Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran – “Ramaswamy Island”
  • Naib Subedar Bana Singh – “Bana Island”
  • Captain Vikram Batra – “Batra Island”
  • Lt Manoj Kumar Pandey – “Pandey Island”
  • Subedar Major (then Rifleman) Sanjay Kumar – “Sanjay Island”
  • Subedar Major Retd (Hony Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav – “Yogendra Island”

PM Narendra Modi’s words:

The Prime Minister addressed the crowd on the occasion of Parakram Diwas and noted that this inspirational day is observed across the nation on the celebration of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s birth anniversary.

As the Andaman and Nicobar Islands celebrated a historic day today, the prime minister remarked, “When history is being formed, the future generations not only remember, judge, and evaluate it, but also get constant inspiration from it.”

Andaman And Nicobar

He continued by saying that a new memorial honouring the life of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose is being built on the island where he resided, and he said that future generations will look back on this day as a significant moment in the Azadi Ka Amrit Kaal. The Netaji Memorial as well as the 21 newly named islands, the prime minister emphasized, will serve as a continuing source of inspiration for future generations.

The Prime Minister explained the history of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, stating that it was here that the Tricolor was raised for the first time and that India’s first sovereign government was established. Veer Savarkar and numerous more warriors, like him, reached the heights of penance & sacrifice for the nation on this very land.


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *